April Birchbox

This month’s theme was natural wonders, hence all the green paper. I love any box with nail polish to be frank, but I like the cuticle salve and the convenience of the face cleansers, so you win this month Birchbox. You get my ten bucks another month.

1. Willa Gentle Cleansing Lavender Facial TowelettesPretty good, but it’s more lavender! I wish I’d gotten the Yes! To Blueberries face towelettes instead, but it’s not a total loss. They dry my skin out a little bit, but I usually moisturize after washing my face anyways. I can’t lie though, they don’t get everything. I still have to use eye makeup remover. A little pack like this would be great to take on vacation, way more compact than my bottle of Cetaphil facial cleanser. If only I were going on a trip soon…

2. J.R. Watkins Hand and Cuticle Salve – I like the way this turns from a solid to oil so easily. I have a cuticle salve from Burt’s Bees that was always too waxy to really make my nail beds feel moisturized. As I’ve mentioned before, lavender is not my favorite scent, but it isn’t overpowering in this product.

3. Wonderstruck Fragrance by Taylor Swift – It’s very fruity and floral, and as much as I’m not a fan of Taylor Swift the musician, I can’t help but like it. The only reason I wouldn’t buy a full size is because it doesn’t have a distinctive scent. It smells a lot like a more concentrated version of some fruity body spray from Bath & Body Works. I can’t identify a specific fruit or flower scent either, BUT the sample is great for my purse because I haven’t been crazy about the last couple of fragrance samples I’ve received. Even if it’s nondescript, it is lovely and sweet and seems fitting for the summer months.

4. Zoya Nail Color in Bevin – So happy I got this! I was really taken by the new spring colors from Zoya, and this one hits the nail (haha) on the head. It’s a soft green-blue with just enough grey to make it feel less pastel or Eastery. Like most Zoya polishes I own, it has great staying power even without a top coat. I do a lot of typing at work, so I usually start to lose polish on the tip of my nail pretty evenly, but Zoya does the best job at sticking it out with me. I’m wearing it in this post, and that’s after a few days on my nails.

(Not Pictured) dropps Laundry Detergent – To be perfectly honest, this was not impressive. It used it to wash a load of clothes, and they didn’t come out any cleaner or softer. I know it’s supposed to be more eco-friendly, but it’d be nice if it cleaned as well or better than the detergent I regularly use.

That’s it for this box! Becca also gave me the Zoya nail color she got in her box (Lotus), and I’m thrilled because I love all the swatches I’ve seen from the TRUE Spring Collection. It’s a muted purple with sparkly red-violet throughout. I think I see a nail swatch in my future y’all.

6 thoughts on “April Birchbox

  1. dianna says:

    I got the befine skin care sampler, lavender sage hair powder and the blueberry towelettes. I’m not sure if I like the nail color. I’m worried that it looks like something is wrong with my nails. The sampler is really nice. I don’t like lavender so combined with sage I don’t think I will ever open the hair powder…
    I was surprised at how much I liked wonderstruck but I think it smells like something a 16 year old would wear.

    • How are the blueberry towelettes? I’m tempted to pick some up on my own because I like a lot of the Yes! to [insert fruit/vegetable] products.

      Did you get the same nail color I did? The Bevin one?

      • dianna says:

        They’re nice. I like the smell and they’re very soft. They don’t work as well as my HEB version of garnier face wipes. But I use them after I’ve been riding horses so I’m pretty dirty.
        I got the same polish. I put it on last night and I really like it now. It reminds me of clay or something like that. I got compliment from my riding instructor on jt

      • dianna says:

        Sorry phone did something weird. I got a hot pink polish last month and I love it. I looked for this color last year and they were all too thin. I only needed one coat for this one. I really like the sample sizes because I never use a whole bottle of polish and they’re easier to work with

      • Yeah, I think I’ve use an entire nail polish bottle ONE time out of all the polish I own, so I love the little minis cause I feel like I could actually use the whole thing and not feel so wasteful.

  2. […] blogger behind A Thunder Heart says she “likes the way this turns from a solid to oil so […]

Leave a comment